Board of Directors

Bradley E. Patt, PhD (Chairman)

Frank Philips, MD

Dr. Frank Phillips is a partner at Midwest Orthopaedics and is Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, Spine Fellowship Co-Director and Head, Section of Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery at Rush University Medical Center.  Dr. Phillips has pioneered numerous minimally invasive spine procedures and techniques that are now widely used and has published extensively in this field.  He has over 15 patents in this space and has authored more than 150 peer reviewed publications and book chapters.  He has participated as principal investigator in cervical disc replacement FDA trials.  Dr. Phillips has held numerous leadership positions and is currently a Board Member and North American President of the Society for Minimally Invasive Spine Surgery (SMISS) and is also Program Chair for the SASS Annual Meeting. He regularly teaches and lectures to spine surgeons nationally and internationally on spinal surgery.

  Dr. Phillips served on BODs of Kyphon (acquired by Medtronic in 2007 for $4 billion) and on the Boards of other privately and publicly held spinal companies.  He has also participated as a founder in a number of successful spine start-ups.  

Gunnar Andersson, MD, PhD

Dr. Gunnar Andersson is The Ronald L. DeWald, M.D. Professor and Chairman Emeritus of the Department of Orthopedic Surgery at Rush University Medical Center and a Spine, Back & Neck Surgeon at Midwest Orthopedics at Rush in Chicago, IL. He was chairman of the Department of Orthopedic Surgery from 1994 to 2008.

Dr. Andersson has been at the forefront of spine surgery research and education for more than 30 years. He is a member of 17 editorial boards, editor-in-chief of Spinal News International, a deputy editor for Spine, founding editor of Contemporary Spine Surgery and an associate editor of Clinical Biomechanics. He is the author of over 330 original publications, over 160 books and book chapters and over 530 abstracts.

Dr. Andersson is a past president of the Orthopaedic Research Society, the International Society for the Study of the Lumbar Spine and the American Academy of Disability Evaluating Physicians and is currently President of the International Society for the Advancement of Spine Surgery.

Dr. Andersson’s activities in connection with commercial companies includes previously being a member of scientific advisory boards at Zimmer, Smith and Nephew, Oratec, Pioneer, Angstrom, St Francis, and Bioset. He is currently on the scientific advisory boards at Allosource, Ouroboros, and Spinal Kinetics, and is a member of the safety monitoring boards at Spinal Kinetics and ISTO. Dr. Andersson is also on the Spine Advisory board to United Healthcare.

Joseph M Miller

Joseph Miller has been a Managing Director at Europlay Capital Advisors, LLC and its subsidiaries (“ECA”) since 2003.

ECA is a Los Angeles-based boutique merchant bank and financial advisory firm that invests in, and provides services to companies in the technology, media, telecom, life sciences and consumer sectors. ECA’s clients and investments include such notable companies as Skype, Rdio, FlashFunders, FanDuel, and Red Bull Global Rallycross.

Joseph currently serves on the boards of several companies including Covata (ASX: CVT), Manalto, FlashFunders and Red Bull Global Rallycross. In the past, he has also served on the boards of Talon International, Multigig, and Unicorn Media as well as on the Compensation and Audit Committees of Skype Global prior to its sale to Microsoft.

Previously, Joseph was a Senior Vice President at Houlihan Lokey Howard & Zukin (“HLHZ”), a leading middle-market investment bank, where he was focused on transactions in the Entertainment and Media group, and serviced such clients as Warner Bros., Chrysalis, EMI Group and DreamWorks amongst many others. Prior to that, Mr. Miller was the Vice President – Corporate Development for Alliance Communications Corporation (“Alliance”). Alliance was then Canada's leading independent broadcaster, producer and distributor of filmed entertainment. During his tenure at Alliance, he was involved in several high profile transactions, including its US-based listing on NASDAQ, as well as several acquisitions.

Joseph has a bachelor's degree in Economics/Business from UCLA and holds Series 24, Series 7 and Series 63 securities licenses.

Jan S Iwanczyk, PhD

Jan Iwanczyk is a board member and a co-founder of Theracell, Inc. He is also a co-founder and CEO of DxRay Inc., Chairman & President of Photon Imaging, Inc., co-founder of Radiant Detector Technologies, Gamma Medica, Inc. and EVO Worldwide, Inc. Dr. Iwanczyk was awarded the 2002 Merit Award from the IEEE Nuclear and Plasma Sciences Society and has published over 150 scientific papers.

Dr. Iwanczyk received his Doctorate in Physics from the Electronics Institute of Nuclear Research in Swierk, Poland and his B.S. and M.S. in Electronics from Warsaw Technical University in Warsaw, Poland.